The IRS ‘Dirty Dozen” Scams for Tax Season: Phishing

by Bruce Givner on February 5, 2015

In a news release published on January 23, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) warned taxpayers to watch out for fake e-mails or websites claiming to be the IRS or a related organization, as they will try to steal your personal and financial information. Commonly referred to as “phishing” this scam attempts to “lure in potential victims and prompt them to provide valuable personal and financial information,” for the purposes of carrying out personal or financial theft.

The IRS recommends that, should you receive a suspicious email, to not respond to the email or click on any of the links. Instead, forward the scam emails to the IRS at

As the season for filing taxes begins, the IRS is releasing its annual “Dirty Dozen” list of tax scams taxpayers should be aware of in order to protect themselves. The agency began the list this year with a release published on January 22 dealing with fraudulent telephone schemes.

In 2014, the “Dirty Dozen” list included both phishing and phone fraud schemes, as well as the following:

  • Identity theft using a taxpayer’s identity to file a return and claim a refund;
  • False promises of “free money” from inflated refunds;
  • Return preparer fraud;
  • Hiding income offshore;
  • Impersonation of charitable organizations;
  • Claiming false income, expenses or exemptions;
  • Making frivolous arguments;
  • Falsely claiming zero wages or using false Form 1099;
  • Use of abusive tax structures; and
  • Misuse of trusts

Givner & Kaye focuses on sophisticated income tax planning and compliance, tax litigation and procedure, estate planning, and asset protection plans for individuals and businesses in Beverly Hills, Calabasas, West Los Angeles, Hollywood, and other areas of Los Angeles, Orange, Ventura, San Bernardino, Riverside and Santa Barbara Counties. Call Los Angeles Estate Planning and Asset Protection Plan Attorneys Givner & Kaye at (310) 207-8008 today.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: